La Farge often painted the scenery in and around Newport, Rhode Island, where he maintained a residence from 1859 to 1879. One of his favorite subjects was Bishop Berkeley’s Rock, which terminates a ridge in Paradise Hills. This view of the rock appeared under its present title in 1884 at a sale of the contents of La Farge’s studio. The artist’s failure to show the painting earlier implies that he did not consider it finished; the rough brushwork and sketchy surface—in places, little more than a wash of thinned oil paint over the canvas—support that notion.
Signature: [at lower left]: J. La Farge / Newport 1868
the artist, until 1884; sale, Ortgies and Company, New York, 17 Apr. 1884, no. 23; Charles de Kay, New York, 1884–died 1935; his wife, Mrs. Charles de Kay, New York, 1935–1949; Frank Jewett Mather Jr., Princeton, New Jersey, 1949
Artist: John La Farge (American, New York 1835–1910 Providence, Rhode Island)Date: ca. 1881–82Medium: Watercolor and graphite on heavy white paper mounted on tan cardboardAccession: 2001.378On view in:Not on view