The panel formed part of the frieze of the choir stalls in the chapel of Saint John the Baptist in the Siena cathedral. Executed in the Sienese workshop of Antonio di Neri Barili between 1483 and 1502, the stalls were removed in 1661. At least seven of the original nineteen seating sections were installed by Marchese Flavio Chigi in the collegiate church of San Quirico d'Orcia in 1749.
Georges Hoentschel ; J. Pierpont Morgan (until 1916; to MMA)
Artist: Attributed to the Workshop of Giuliano da Maiano (1432–1490) and Benedetto da Maiano (1442–1497)Date: ca. 1489–91Medium: Walnut, maple, ebony; ebonized wood, and fruitwood; traces of gilding and red paintAccession: 30.93.2On view in:Gallery 500
Artist: Attributed to workshop of Apollonio di Giovanni di Tomaso (Italian, Florence ca. 1416–1465 Florence)Date: after ca. 1461Medium: Poplar wood, linen, polychromed and gilded gesso with panel painted in tempera and goldAccession: 14.39On view in:Gallery 604