Overall (confirmed): 7 1/16 in., 10 oz. 11 dwt. (17.9 cm, 0.328kg);
Diameter: 3 5/8 in. (9.2 cm)
Gift of Irwin Untermyer, 1968
Not on view
In the mid-sixteenth century, thousands of Protestants immigrated to England from the Spanish Netherlands, where they had been subject to persecution by the Inquisition. Some were French-speaking Walloons (a distinct community within present-day Belgium), while others were Dutch-speaking Flemings. This pair of communion cups was used in the Walloon chapel in Canterbury Cathedral. After 1685, when French Protestants (Huguenots) lost their protection from persecution, an even larger wave of immigrants arrived in England.
Inscription: Engraved on underside of foot, in scrip:  A l'eglise vuollonne de Cantorbery 1632
Engraved in double-line capitals: B / IM (for John and Mary Bulteel)
Marking:  O in pointed shield (London date letter for 1631–32);  Lion passant (English quality mark for sterling);  Leopard's head crowned (London assay office mark);  IT two pellets above, one below in heart-shaped shield (unidentified maker's mark)
Location of marks: – grouped together near rim;  also on underside of foot.
[ S. J. Phillips Ltd. , until March 2, 1959; sold to Untermyer ] ; Irwin Untermyer , New York (1959–68; to MMA)