Purchase, C. Michael Paul Gift, and Bequest of Mary Cushing Fosburgh and Gift of Irwin Untermyer, by exchange, 1980
On view at The Met Fifth Avenue in Gallery 548
This statue came from the Château de Valmer near Tours, which was built by Thomas Bonneau, a crown official, in 1645.
Inscription: Engraved on left side of plinth: N.C.
Carlhian Beaumetz (until December 29, 1905; to Wildenstein and Duveen) ; [ Wildenstein and Co., Inc. , December 29, 1905, owned together with Duveen ] ; James Duveen (December 29, 1905–December 31, 1919)