Shields of this exceptionally large size and weight (forty-nine pounds) were propped on the ground to form a wall to protect archers and infantrymen. This shield is decorated with the coat of arms of the city of Erfurt, a silver wheel on a red ground, and may have been made before 1324, when the coat of arms of the city was changed.
Town Hall of Erfurt
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin 18, No. 1 (January 1923). vol. XVIII, pp.11-13, fig. 2 (first image).
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Stephen V. Grancsay, and Carl Otto von Kienbusch. The Bashford Dean Collection of Arms and Armor in the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Portland, Maine: Southworth Press for the Armor and Arms Club of New York City, 1933. p. 160, no. 85, pl. XLIII.