Inscription: Printed on mount recto, UC: "Revue Générale de l'Architecture et des Travaux Publics. ______ 8, Place St. Michel, Paris.// Dirigé par Mr CÉSAR DALY, architecte."; UL, UC, UR: "Année 1856. (XVIIe ANNEE DE LA FONDATION.) pl. 21."; LC: "ESCALIER DU CHATEAU DE BLOIS// AILE DE FRANÇOIS 1er (bàtie vers 1520)// restaurée en 1847 par Mr. Duban."
This photograph appears as plate 21 in Volume 14, 1856, of César Daly's "Revue Générale de l'Architecture et des Travaux Publics". It was the first and only photograph to be included in the publication, and was presented to show the potential of photography for such a purpose: "...[photographic] images have become a source of study which satisfies our epoch's need of precision too well for the Revue [underlined] to hesitate any longer in opening this new path to its readers" (cf. Sirodot, pp. 213-16 in the same volume).