Inscription: Signed and inscribed: (lower right) Eugène Lavieille; (verso) Le Village de la Celle Ss Moret / Seine et Marne / Eugène Lavieille
the artist (about 1872/75–78; sale, Hôtel Drouot, Paris, June 3, 1878, no. 23, for Fr 300?); private collection (until 1944; sale, Hôtel Drouot, Paris, May 24, 1944, no. 93, as "Celle-Saint-Mard," for Fr 25,500 to Watelin); [J. Watelin, Paris, 1944–45; sold for Fr 55,000]; Arthur Wiesenberger, New York (until 1960)
Lavieille lived at Les Sablons at the southeast extremity of the forest of Fontainebleau between about 1872 and 1875, and probably painted this view of the neighboring village of La Celle-sous-Moret in these years.