Inscription: Signed and inscribed: (lower right) Eugène Lavieille; (verso) Le Village de la Celle Ss Moret / Seine et Marne / Eugène Lavieille
the artist (about 1872/75–78; sale, Hôtel Drouot, Paris, June 3, 1878, no. 23, for Fr 300?); private collection (until 1944; sale, Hôtel Drouot, Paris, May 24, 1944, no. 93, as "Celle-Saint-Mard," for Fr 25,500 to Watelin); [J. Watelin, Paris, 1944–45; sold for Fr 55,000]; Arthur Wiesenberger, New York (until 1960)
Lavieille lived at Les Sablons at the south-east extremity of the forest of Fontainebleau between about 1872 and 1875, and probably painted this view of the neighboring village of La Celle-sous-Moret in these years.