A pencil drawing after this picture appears near the beginning of a sketchbook that Sisley kept as a record of his work from November 1883 to the summer of 1885 (Musée du Louvre, Paris). The drawing bears an inscription that identifies the site as the road from Moret to Sainte-Mammès, which runs along the Loing River; the water is just visible at lower left. Sisley established himself in this area, on the edge of the Forest of Fontainebleau, in 1880, and was captivated by its "quite picturesque views". He settled permanently in Moret in 1889.
Inscription: Signed (lower right): Sisley.
?[Ambroise Vollard, Paris]; Jules Strauss, Paris (until 1902; his sale, Hôtel Drouot, Paris, May 3, 1902, no. 54, for Fr 5,500, to Shumann for Strauss) his sale, Paris, January 18, 1934, no. 9, for Fr 23,100 to Schoeller); his wife, Mme S . . . [Strauss], Paris (1902–34; her sale, Hôtel Drouot, Paris, January 18, 1934, no. 9, for Fr 23,100 to Schoeller); [André Schoeller, Paris (from 1934)]; Arnold Sontag, Geneva (until 1956); [Knoedler, Paris and New York, 1956–57; stock no. A6329; sold Febraury 12 for $21,600 to Payson]; Joan Whitney Payson, New York and Manhasset (1957–d. 1975)
Kyoto Municipal Museum of Art. "From Goya to Wyeth: The Joan Whitney Payson Collection," September 13–October 12, 1980, no. 28 (as "La route de Moret à Sainte-Mammès").
Tokyo. Isetan Museum of Art. "From Goya to Wyeth: The Joan Whitney Payson Collection," October 17–December 9, 1980, no. 28.
François Daulte. Alfred Sisley: Catalogue raisonné de l'œuvre peint. Lausanne, 1959, unpaginated, no. 500, ill., dates it 1883, on the basis of a drawing of the same subject, no. 8, in one of Sisley's drawing books in the Cabinet des dessins (Musée du Louvre, Paris).
There is a sketch for this painting in one of Sisley's drawing books (Cabinet des dessins, Musée du Louvre, Paris) titled "La route de Moret à St. Mammès", no. 8. The cover of the carnet is annotated, "Croquis. Novembre 1883. Sisley".