Marking: Arms: (on Saint Michael's shield): a cross cantoned by four fleur-de-lis (on other figure's shield): a cross with horizontal limbs enhanced
From Alençon, Normandy, France; [ Madame Louis Stern, Hôtel du Faubourg, Paris (found by architect Emile Peyre)] ; [ Duveen Brothers, London, Paris and New York (sold 1930)] ; William Randolph Hearst American, 1863–1951, New York and San Simeon, Ca. (from 1930) ; Brummer Gallery, Paris and New York (sold 1946)
Rorimer, James J. The Cloisters: The Building and the Collection of Medieval Art in Fort Tryon Park. 3rd revised ed. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1963. p. 175.
Sanfaçon, Roland. "Three French Flamboyant Chimney Pieces." The Bulletin of the Cleveland Museum of Art 63, no. 10 (December 1976). pp. 314, 317–20, 322, fig. 8–9.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art. New York, 1986. p. 167, fig. 319.
Brennan, Christine E. "The Brummer Gallery and the Business of Art." Journal of the History of Collections 27, no. 3 (November 2015). p. 463.