Art/ Collection/ Collection/ Art Object
{{img.publicCaption}}

Chapel from Notre-Dame-du-Bourg at Langon

Date:
after 1126
Geography:
Made in Aquitaine, France
Culture:
French
Medium:
Limestone
Dimensions:
22 ft. 4 1/2 in. × 16 ft. 5 5/8 in. (682 × 502 cm)
Classification:
Installations
Credit Line:
Rogers Fund,1934
Accession Number:
34.115.1–.269
On view at The Met Cloisters in Gallery 4
The right wall of the Langon Chapel is composed of elements originally from the south wall of the choir in the church of Notre-Dame-du-Bourg, which was founded as a dependency of Notre-Dame-de-la-Grande-Sauve in 1126. These sober, spare, yet imposing elements have been installed with little variation from their Romanesque arrangement. Several original elements have been incorporated into the left wall, which was reconstructed with stonework that harmonizes with the facing wall.
The large heads on the capital to the right of the altar were once thought to represent Henry II of England and his wife Eleanor of Aquitaine, who in 1155 visited the monastery upon which the chapel was dependent. This seems unlikely, however, as similar capitals with crowned heads are rather common in Romanesque architectural sculpture. The images on the capitals appear to have no religious or narrative significance. Shaded areas indicate original elements.
From the choir of the church of Notre-Dame-du-Bourg at Langon, near Bordeaux ; Dubois, Langon ; [ C. Joret, Paris (sold 1934)]
Cirot de la Ville, Jean-Pierre-Albert. Histoire de l'abbaye et congrégation de Notre-Dame de la Grande-Sauve, ordre de Saint Benoît, en Guienne. Vol. 2. Paris, 1845. no. 21, pp. 34-35, 373-74.

Drouyn, Léo. La Guienne anglaise: Histoire et description des villes fortifiées, forteresses et chateaux, construits dans la Gironde pendant la domination anglaise. Bordeaux, 1900. pp. 80-82, pl. 79.

Rebsomen, André. La Garonne et ses affluents de la rive gauche, de La Réole à Bordeaux. Bordeaux: Féret et Fils, 1913. pp. 172-73, fig. 146, 148.

Eylaud, Jean-Max. Langon. Villes du Sud-Ouest 1, Vol. 17. Hassegor: Librairie D. Chabas, 1933. p. 35.

Cottineau, Laurent Henri. Répertoire topo-bibliographique des abbayes et prieurés. Vol. 1. Mâcon: Imprimerie Protat Frères, 1935. col. 1554.

Frankfurter, Alfred M. "The Opening of The Cloisters." Art News 36, no. 7 (May 1938). pp. 9-14.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art. "Sixty-Ninth Annual Report of the Trustees for the Fiscal Year 1938." Annual Report of the Trustees of the Metropolitan Museum of Art 69 (1938). p. 25.

Rorimer, James J., and Margaret B. Freeman. The Cloisters: The Building and the Collection of Mediaeval Art, in Fort Tryon Park. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1938. pp. 21-24, fig. 10, 11.

Rorimer, James J. "New Acquisitions for the Cloisters." The Metropolitan Museum of Art Bulletin, n.s., 33, no.5, Part 2 (May 1938). pp. 4-6, fig. 2-3.

Kramer, Herbert George. "La disparition de Notre-Dame-du-Bourg de Langon." Revue Historique de Bordeaux et du Département de la Gironde 34, no. 3-4 (July-December 1941). pp. 94-95.

Kelly, Amy. Eleanor of Aquitaine and the Four Kings. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1950. frontispiece.

Rorimer, James J. The Cloisters: The Building and the Collection of Mediaeval Art in Fort Tryon Park, New York. 11th ed. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1951. pp. 22-25, fig. 10, 11.

Rorimer, James J. The Cloisters: The Building and the Collection of Medieval Art in Fort Tryon Park. 3rd revised ed. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1963. pp. 51-52, fig. 20.

Hoving, Thomas. "The Thread of Patronage: The Medieval Collections of The Metropolitan Museum of Art and The Cloisters." Apollo 82, no. 43 (September 1965). pp. 179-80, fig. 6.

Couzy, Hélène. "Les chapiteaux de la Sauve-Majeure." Bulletin Monumental 126, no. 4 (1968). p. 371, n. 3.

Cahn, Walter. "Romanesque Sculpture in American Collections IV. The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, Boston." Gesta 8, no. 2 (1969). p. 51.

Rorimer, James J. Medieval Monuments at The Cloisters: As They Were and As They Are. Revised ed. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1972. pp. 36-37, fig. 38-40.

Marquette, Jean-Bernard. "La ville de Langon au début du dix-huitième siècle (Deuxième partie)." Les Cahiers du Bazadais 13, no. 24 (1973). pp. 34-41, fig. 11-14.

Barral I Altet, Xavier. "La sculpture de l'église de Notre-Dame-du-Bourg de Langon (Gironde)." Bulletin Monumental 132, no. 1 (1974). p. 91.

Gardelles, Jacques. "Un élément de la première sculpture gothique en Bordelais: Le chapiteau à têtes." Études de civilisation médiévale (IXe-XIIe siècles): Melanges offerts à Edmond-René Labande (1974). p. 330, 331, 333.

Gardelles, Jacques. "La sculpture monumentale en Bordelais et en Bazadais à la fin du XIIe et au début du XIIIe siècle." Bulletin Monumental 132, no. 1 (1974). pp. 36, 43.

Musée d'Aquitaine Bordeaux. Sculpture médiévale de Bordeaux et du Bordelais. Bordeaux: Musée d'Aquitaine Bordeaux, 1976. no. 99-106, pp. 105-113, fig. 99-106.

Erlande-Brandenburg, Alain. "Les chapiteaux à têtes dans la première sculpture gothique en Bordelais." Bulletin Monumental 135, no. 2 (1977). p. 167.

Gardelles, Jacques. "Notre-Dame-du-Bourg à Langon: État des questions." Les Cahiers du Bazadais 17 (1977). pp. 27-42, fig. 3-8.

Vermeule, Cornelius C., Walter Cahn, and Rollin van N. Hadley. Sculpture in the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum. Boston: Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum, 1977. p. 78.

Durliat, Marcel. "Précisions sur l'église Notre-Dame-du-Bourg à Langon." Bulletin Monumental 136, no. 2 (1978). p. 186.

Cahn, Walter. Romanesque Sculpture in American Collections: Volume 1, New England Museums. New York: B. Franklin, 1979. p. 83.

Young, Bonnie. A Walk Through The Cloisters. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1979. pp. 31-34.

Mormone, Jean-Michel. "Les fouilles de Notre-Dame du Bourg à Langon." Les Cahiers du Bazadais 21 (1980).

Gardelles, Jacques. "La première architecture gothique dans la Gascogne des Plantagenet." Cahiers de Civilisation Médiévale 29 (1986). p. 80.

Young, Bonnie. A Walk Through The Cloisters. 5th ed. New York: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1988. pp. 31-34.

Owen, D.D.R. Eleanor of Aquitaine: Queen and Legend. Oxford: S. Blackwell, 1993. pl. 2.

Barnet, Peter, and Nancy Y. Wu. The Cloisters: Medieval Art and Architecture. 75th Anniversary ed. New York and New Haven: The Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2012. pp. 44-45.



Related Objects

Chapter House from Notre-Dame-de-Pontaut

Date: 12th century Medium: Limestone Accession: 35.50 On view in:Gallery 6

Corbel with Five Interlaced Hair-Pulling Acrobats

Date: ca. 1150–1200 Medium: Limestone Accession: 34.21.2 On view in:Gallery 3

Corbel with a Pair of Beard-Pulling Acrobats

Date: ca. 1150–1200 Medium: Limestone Accession: 34.21.1 On view in:Gallery 3

Corbel with Female Figure with Clasped Hands

Date: ca. 1150–1200 Medium: Limestone Accession: 34.21.7 On view in:Gallery 3

Corbel with Two Men with Fingers in Mouths

Date: ca. 1150–1200 Medium: Limestone Accession: 34.21.8 On view in:Gallery 3