Lalique gave geographical names to a number of his patterns for tablewares. This pattern, named after a town in eastern France near Strasbourg, was introduced in 1924 and produced until 1947. Lalique used the service in the dining-room setting he created for the pavilion of the Manufacture Nationale de Sèvres at the 1925 Paris exposition.
Inscription: Signed (underside of foot, etched): R LALIQUE
Robert L. Isaacson, New York (until 1978; his gift to MMA)
New York. The Metropolitan Museum of Art. "A Century of Design, Part ll: 1925-1950," May 9–October 29, 2000, no catalogue.
New York. The Metropolitan Museum of Art. "Masterpieces of French Art Deco," August 4, 2009–January 23, 2011, no catalogue.
"Les Ensembles modernes." Art et industrie (November 1925), unpaginated.
Encyclopédie des arts décoratifs et industriels modernes au XXème siècle. (reprint ed., New York, 1977). Paris, , vol. 5, pl. LXXVII.
Gaston Derys. "L'Exposition de l'oeuvre de René Lalique." Mobilier et décoration 13 (March 1933), p. 101.
Félix Marcilhac. René Lalique, 1860–1945: Maître-verrier. Analyse de l'oeuvre et catalogue raisonné. Rev. ed (1st ed., 1989). Paris, 2004, p. 829.
Jared Goss. French Art Deco. New York, 2014, pp. 118–19, 257, no. 28, ill. (color).