In 1652 John Hull and Robert Sanderson were appointed mint masters for the Massachusetts Bay Colony. Established in response to a chronic shortage of hard currency and the need for a reliable and efficient medium of exchange, the mint was operated by Hull and Sanderson for thirty years. During that period, it produced coins of various denominations and designs, ranging from a simple NE (for "New England") to a willow, oak, or pine tree encircled by beading; virtually all examples, however, were dated 1652.
Inscription: stamped on obverse: [pine tree]; stamped on obverse in margin: MASATHVSETS[pellet] IN [three pellets over two pellets] stamped on reverse: 1652 / XII; stamped on reverse in margin: NEWENGLAND : AN : DOM [eight pellets arranged in circular pattern around central pellet]
Alphonso T. Clearwater, Kingston, NY; bequest to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, 1933.