Tiffany's work first entered the collections of the Metropolitan Museum in 1896, when Museum patron H. O. Havemeyer presented a collection of fifty-six Favrile glass vases. According to Havemeyer, "Mr. Louis Tiffany [had] set aside the finest pieces of their production." That collection was further enriched by a spectacular loan by Tiffany himself in 1925 of pieces from his personal collection of blown glass, enamels, and pottery. This collection became a gift to the Museum from the Louis Comfort Tiffany Foundation in 1951. Together they form one of the most important and comprehensive collections of Tiffany's Favrile glass and enamels. Individual gifts and selected purchases, including important examples of furniture and architectural fragments from the Havemeyer house, have considerably enhanced the Museum's holdings. One of the most impressive works is the four-column loggia from Laurelton Hall, with its vibrant floral capitals and glass-mosaic decorations, that graces The Charles Engelhard Court in The American Wing.