Limestone; 176 x 108 in. (447 x 274.3 cm)
The Cloisters Collection, 1935 (35.143.1–.3)
Nearly fifteen feet high and nine-and-a-half feet wide, these are excellent examples of typical thirteenth-century windows. Each of them encloses two lancet arches surmounted by an oculus (round openings), which are further embellished with three-, four-, or six-lobed motifs commonly used to articulate window openings. Today, with the Hudson River as a backdrop, these windows provide the perfect setting to showcase mostly thirteenth-century stained glass from more than a dozen monuments in England, France, and Germany.
Purchased in 1935 specifically for their present location in the Early Gothic Hall, these windows may have come from the south elevation of the Priory of the Holy Trinity in Beaumont-le-Roger, although no definitive conclusion can be drawn from the mutilated condition of the ruined church.