John William Hill (American (born England), London 1812–1879 West Nyack, New York)
Watercolor, gouache, black ink, graphite, and gum arabic on off-white wove paper
18 3/8 x 14 1/4 in. (46.7 x 36.2 cm)
The Edward W. C. Arnold Collection of New York Prints, Maps, and Pictures, Bequest of Edward W. C. Arnold, 1954
Not on view
Hill presumably painted this watercolor in recognition of the new Trinity Chapel on West 25th Street. As the population of lower Manhattan swelled unrelentingly in the mid-nineteenth century, wealthy citizens moved to “uptowns” more and more northerly, making services at the original Trinity Church less convenient for them to attend. Designed in 1851 by Richard Upjohn, both buildings were central to the spiritual life of the city’s Anglican elite. The inaugural status of the chapel is here suggested by the baptismal ritual being conducted at left.
Signature: [at lower right]: J. W. Hill.
Inscription: [on verso at lower center in graphite]: Interior of Trinity Chapel / West 25th St. 1856 / Drawn by J.W. Hill / matt & frame; [at lower left]: by [illegible] E R; [at lower right]: Trinity Chapel