Parlor from the William C. Williams House, Theophilus Nash (died 1854), Mahogany and marble, American

Parlor from the William C. Williams House

Maker:
Theophilus Nash (died 1854)
Date:
1810–11
Geography:
Made in Richmond, Virginia, United States
Culture:
American
Medium:
Mahogany and marble
Dimensions:
237 x 239 in. (602 x 607.1 cm)
Classification:
Architecture
Credit Line:
Gift of Joe Kindig, Jr., 1968
Accession Number:
68.137
On view at The Met Fifth Avenue in Gallery 728
Acquired from a house built for the Richmond lawyer William Clayton Williams (1768–1817), the room’s most notable features are its rich mahogany woodwork and blue-and-gray King of Prussia–marble baseboards. The room’s wallpaper featuring scenes of Paris is a reproduction of the type sold in the United States in the 1810s. The elegant furniture by Charles-Honoré Lannuier and Duncan Phyfe is not original to the room, but further enhances the sophisticated Anglo-French aesthetic of the room.
Inscription: incised above doorway: THEO. NASH, EXECUTOR
Willliam C. Williams, Richmond, Virginia, 1810; John A. Belvin, Richmond, Virginia, by ca. 1862–1882; Thomas T. Waterman, 1936; Joe Kindig Jr., York, Pennsylvania, until 1968