Image: 10 13/16 x 33 1/4 in. (27.5 x 84.5 cm) Overall with mounting: 11 1/8 x 310 11/16 in. (28.3 x 789.1 cm)
Bequest of John M. Crawford Jr., 1988
Not on view
The Pavilion of Prince Teng demonstrates that Tang Di, a scholar and government official best known for his large-scale colored paintings on silk, was also capable of producing intimate, more informal ink drawings on paper. As he does in his monumental decorative style, Tang here follows the conservative brush idiom of the Northern Song master Guo Xi (ca. 1000–ca. 1090), though his relaxed calligraphic depiction of rocks, trees, and foliage reflects the early Yuan transformation of Song models by Tang Di's teacher, Zhao Mengfu (1254–1322). The pavilion, erected in the seventh century by the prince of Teng, is one of the most renowned buildings in Chinese history, thanks to the poet Wang Bo (649–676). It is situated near the confluence of the Gan and Yangzi Rivers in Jiangsi Province. Wang's poem, which contrasts the impermanence of human life with the endless flow of the river, has made the pavilion a favorite subject for painters. The large seals at the beginning of this scroll belong to Prince Yi (1686–1730), thirteenth son of the Kangxi emperor (r. 1662–1722).
Inscription: Artist’s inscription and signature (2 columns in semi-cursive script)
The first decade of the eighth month in the renchen year of the Zhizheng era  painted by Tang Di, Zihua, from Wuxing [in Zhejiang Province].
He Guanwu 何冠五 (active early 20th c.), 1 column in standard script, undated (mounted on brocade wrapper):
Ye Gongchuo 葉恭綽 (1881–1968), 9 columns in standard script, dated 1940; 1 seal: