This overdoor is one of a pair; its pendant, of almost exactly the same dimensions, is Bridge over a Cascade
). The two may have formed part of a much larger ensemble that included a pair of smaller overdoors and five upright canvases varying in height from eighty-three to 233 centimeters. All were perhaps acquired by David Étienne Rouillé de l'Étang for the great house that he remodeled at 6, place Louis XV, later place de la Concorde, in the last quarter of the eighteenth century. The house and collection passed by descent to Marie Jeanne Louise Thérèse de Pastoret (1814–1890), who married the marquis du Plessis-Bellière and in 1870 removed the Roberts to the château de Moreuil. They were sold in 1897; one belongs to the Musée du Louvre, Paris. Almost all of the paintings from the Hôtel Rouillé de l'Étang apparently include a water feature, in this case a basin overflowing into a stream forded by a flock of sheep. To the left is a shepherd with his dog, and to the right, a boy who washes his hat at the fountain. The curving aqueduct occupies the middle distance.
[Katharine Baetjer 2011]