Although silver made by the Jewel Office for diplomatic officers was generally classical in inspiration, this ewer (68.141.316) and basin (68.141.317) represent a rare foray into the rococo style. They were part of a large service for three dozen guests made for Sir Charles Hanbury Williams’s embassy to Russia in 1755.
Inscription: Engraved on underside: To H.R.H. The Princess Mary from the Diplomatic Corps at the Court of St. James's 28th February 1927
Royal arms and initials of George II
Weight mark 150/17 scratched near the marks
Crest on underside
Marking:  AP (maker's mark for Abraham Portal);  Lion passant guardant (English quality mark for sterling);  Lion's head crowned;  u (London date letter for 1755).
Location of marks: – on underside
Queen Mary of Teck, (wife of King George V of England, r. 1910–1936) ; H.R.H. Princess Mary of England, "The Princess Royal", Countess of Harewood (until 1966; her sale, Christie's, July 6, 1966, no. 115) ; [ S. J. Phillips Ltd. , until September 28, 1967; sold to Irwin Untermyer ] ; Irwin Untermyer (1967–68; to MMA)
Artist: James Cox (British, ca. 1723–1800)Date: 1766Medium: Case: gold with diamonds and paste jewels set in silver, pearls; Dial: while enamel; Movement: partly gilded brass and steel, wheel balance and cock of silver set with paste jewelsAccession: 1982.60.137On view in:Gallery 540