Exhibition Room, Somerset House

Various artists/makers

Not on view

Founded in 1768, London's Royal Academy mounted exhibitions every summer from 1769. Recent works by the academicians were given pride of place and supplemented by submissions by non-members. In 1780, the institution moved from cramped quarters on Piccadilly into custom built galleries in Somerset House on the Strand. The Great Room of these new galleries is shown here densely hung from floor to ceiling. Visitors were admitted for a shilling and flocked to inspect the art and enjoy a glimpse of London society. Pugin and Rowlandson's print was published in 1808.

Exhibition Room, Somerset House, Designed and etched by Thomas Rowlandson (British, London 1757–1827 London), Etching and aquatint, hand colored

Due to rights restrictions, this image cannot be enlarged, viewed at full screen, or downloaded.

Open Access

As part of the Met's Open Access policy, you can freely copy, modify and distribute this image, even for commercial purposes.


Public domain data for this object can also be accessed using the Met's Open Access API.