Chronology of Four Yuan Masters

Xie Zhiliu Chinese

Not on view

In this notebook, Xie Zhiliu constructed chronologies for the so-called Four Masters of the late Yuan dynasty (1271–1368): Ni Zan, Wu Zhen, Huang Gongwang, and Wang Meng. In addition to outlining biographical information, Xie commented on their dated paintings, revealing a broad and impressive knowledge of their art.

Chronology of Four Yuan Masters, Xie Zhiliu (Chinese, 1910–1997), Bound volume; ink on paper, China

Due to rights restrictions, this image cannot be enlarged, viewed at full screen, or downloaded.

Open Access

As part of the Met's Open Access policy, you can freely copy, modify and distribute this image, even for commercial purposes.


Public domain data for this object can also be accessed using the Met's Open Access API.