Quantcast

美国西部青铜雕塑展,1850-1925年

2013年12月18日-2014年4月13日

在20世纪之交,人们对于收集美洲原住民、牛仔与骑士、拓荒者与淘金者、西部平原和山地上的动物肖像趋之若鹜。通过28位艺术家创作的65件青铜雕塑作品,《美国西部青铜雕塑,1850-1925年》展揭示了以美国西部为主题的雕塑之流行程度。参展艺术家包括梭伦•汉尼拔•博格朗(Solon Hannibal Borglum)、詹姆斯•厄尔•弗雷泽(James Earle Fraser)、爱德华•齐梅斯(Edward Kemeys)、弗雷德里克•威廉•麦克蒙尼斯(Frederick William MacMonnies)、保罗•曼希普(Paul Manship)、亚历山大•费敏斯特•普罗克特(Alexander Phimister Proctor)、弗雷德里克•雷明顿(Frederic Remington)、查尔斯•M•罗素(Charles M. Russell)及查尔斯•施赖福格尔(Charles Shreyvogel)等。

本展览的成功举办得益于彼得•杰伊•夏普基金会(Peter Jay Sharp Foundation)、亨利•卢斯基金会(Henry Luce Foundation)、特拉美国艺术基金会(Terra Foundation for American Art)及企业控股捐款(Enterprise Holdings Endowment)。

本展览由纽约大都会艺术博物馆与丹佛艺术博物馆合作组织。

本展览目录的成功出版得益于美国馆威廉•卡伦•布莱恩特会员的资助。

展览概述

在19世纪中期及20世纪早期,工业化和移民潮改变了东海岸城市并向西岸推进,西岸也随之而改变。著名西部主题雕塑家弗雷德里克•雷明顿曾在1907年不无怀旧地说:“我的西部早就彻底不在了,仿佛只是一场梦。它戴上帽子,裹上毛毯,走下舞台;幕布已放下,新的一幕戏正在进行中。”

本展览的时间跨度是1850-1925年,怀旧感是许多以西部为题材的艺术家所采用的一个重要创作因素——美洲印第安人和动物是这75年间一直受到青睐的主题,牛仔直到1890年代才以雕塑的形式出现,而开拓者的形像直到20世纪之交才频繁出现。

美洲印第安人

这一时期对美洲印第安人的雕塑表现包括肖像、对他们生活方式的记录以及传达更普适性主题的作品。赫蒙•阿特金斯•麦克尼尔(Hermon Atkins MacNeil)的《莫基人祷雨》(1895–96年)受到他去亚利桑那州的一次旅行的启发,他在途中见证了莫基人(霍皮人)在奥瑞比的平顶山上进行一年一度的祷雨仪式。快跑者携带着扭动的蛇,后者蜷曲在他的手臂上甚至头发里;蛇是代表闪电的符号,正是闪电给干旱的气候带去了雨水。保罗•曼希普的《印第安猎人和他的狗》(1926年)呈现出一种简化的现代主义美感,描绘了年轻人那种无忧无虑的精神。在詹姆斯•厄尔•弗雷泽的《小路尽头》(1918中)中,那个疲倦的印第安人弯腰驼背坐在他饱经风霜的小马背上,无疑是对保留区中美洲印第安人所受羁绊的生动诠释。

动物

在很多物种濒临灭绝之际,西部野生动物的形像也变得流行起来,比如野牛、美洲豹、熊、麋鹿和狼。北美野牛可谓是濒临灭绝的动物中最具象征性的,从曾经的数百万头被滥杀到在1880年代只剩下区区数百头。亨利•梅尔文•喜拉第(Henry Merwin Shrady’s)的《水牛》令人信服地表现出这一平原之王的威严风度和厚重的毛皮。有的雕塑家到西部去观察自然环境中的动物,还有的只是受到了都市动物园之行的启发。亚历山大•费敏斯特•普罗克特的这件极富张力的《潜行豹》(1891-93年)依赖于一张在科罗拉多州狩猎探险时拍的样本,后来又在他停留巴黎期间得到完善。梭伦•汉尼拔•博格朗以其对边疆地区人类和马匹之间的纽带之深刻描绘而闻名,比如在《白人土地的边界上》(1899年)中那个以自己的马为遮蔽的印第安人,或是在《暴风雪》(1900年)中与自己的坐骑缩成一团的牛仔。

牛仔

弗雷德里克•雷明顿以他最初也是最受欢迎的雕塑作品《野马的克星》(1895年)为艺术家应该如何描绘牛仔奠定了标准;在这件作品中,一位粗犷而干练的牛仔只手驯服了一匹后腿站立的野马。查尔斯•M•罗素在他的有生之年就被赞誉为“牛仔艺术家”,他在《冒烟》(1904年)中刻画出一个牛仔挥舞着左轮手枪,他的马被一颗子弹发出的声音惊得后腿站立的形像。从电影时代的早期开始,美国西部就是一个关键的电影主题。在查尔斯•克里斯塔多罗(Charles Cristadoro)对威廉•S•哈特(1917年)的肖像刻画中,这位演员的装束为他在无声电影界的走红做出贡献,使他获得了“双枪比尔”的绰号。

淘金者和拓荒者

随着加洲淘金热于1848年开始,以及横贯大陆铁路在1869年竣工,越来越多人向西部进发。那些首当其冲的开拓者、侦察者和商人所经历的冒险旅程,不管是真实的还是虚构的,都给雕塑家们带来了灵感。弗雷德里克•威廉•麦克蒙尼斯为基特•卡森(约1907-11年)打造的这尊骑行像向这位勇敢的拓荒者致敬,卡森在大众媒体中被神话成了民间英雄。布莱恩•贝克在他为俄克拉何马州庞卡城的《先锋妇女》纪念碑制作的这件模型(1927年)中,突出了妇女为开拓美国西部做出的贡献。这位年轻的母亲迈开大步向前走,一手牵着儿子,一手拿着《圣经》和包袱,暗示她在艰辛开垦面前的信仰,以及她作为一位女主人和养家者的地位。

展览巡回时间表

在大都会博物馆展出后,本展览将巡回至丹佛艺术博物馆(2014年5月9日至8月31日)以及中国南京博物馆(2014年9月29日至2015年1月18日)。

A variety of events are scheduled in conjunction with this exhibition.

See a list of related events (PDF).

Purchase the exhibition catalogue in The Met Store.

Quantcast
The American West in Bronze, 1850–1925

More about the Exhibition

More about the Exhibition

Exhibition Overview

In the mid-nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, industrialization and immigration altered East Coast cities and pushed toward the West, changing it as well. Frederic Remington, the renowned sculptor of Western themes, said nostalgically in 1907: "My West passed utterly out of existence so long ago as if to make it merely a dream. It put on its hat, took up its blankets and marched off the board; the curtain came down and a new act was in progress."

For many of the years explored in the exhibition, 1850–1925, nostalgia played a large role for many of the artists working with Western themes—while the American Indian and animals were favored subjects throughout this seventy-five-year period, the cowboy was not portrayed in sculptural form until the 1890s, and the settler not regularly until the turn of the twentieth century.


American Indians

The American West in Bronze, 1850–1925

Adolph Alexander Weinman (American, born Germany, 1870–1952). Chief Blackbird, the Ogalla Sioux, 1903. Brooklyn Museum, Gift of George D. Pratt (15.512)

Sculptural representations of American Indians during this period included portraits, records of their ways of life, and works with more universal messages. Hermon Atkins MacNeil's Moqui Prayer for Rain (1895–96) was inspired by a visit to Arizona, where he witnessed the Moqui (Hopi) people's annual prayer for rain at the top of the mesa at Oraibi. The swift runner carries writhing snakes coiled around his arms and even in his hair, symbols of the lightning that brings rain to the arid climate. Paul Manship's Indian Hunter and His Dog (1926), rendered in a streamlined modernist aesthetic, represents the carefree spirit of young adulthood. And the weary Indian slumped dejectedly on his windblown pony in James Earle Fraser's End of the Trail (1918) is a stirring comment on the confinement of American Indians on reservation land.


Animals

The American West in Bronze, 1850–1925

Henry Merwin Shrady (American, 1871–1922). Buffalo, 1899 (cast ca. 1901). Amon Carter Museum of American Art, Fort Worth, Texas (1999.21)

Images of Western wildlife—bison, panthers, bears, elk, and wolves—became popular at the same time that many species were brought to near extinction. The North American bison was the most emblematic of endangered animals, with herds formerly in the millions wantonly slaughtered to number only in the hundreds by the early 1880s. Henry Merwin Shrady's Buffalo (1899) convincingly depicts the stately bearing and weighty coat of this monarch of the plains. Some sculptors traveled to the West to observe animals in their natural habitats, while others were simply inspired by trips to urban zoos. Alexander Phimister Proctor's dramatic Stalking Panther (1891–93) relied on a specimen shot during a game-hunting expedition in Colorado and was refined during his stay in Paris. Solon Hannibal Borglum was known for poignant depictions of the bond between humans and horses on the frontier, whether it was an Indian shielding himself behind his horse in On the Border of the White Man's Land (1899) or a cowboy and his mount huddled together in The Blizzard (1900).


Cowboys

The American West in Bronze, 1850–1925

Charles M. Russell (American, 1864–1926). Smoking Up, 1904 (cast 1904). The Petrie Collection

Frederic Remington set the standard for how artists would portray the cowboy with his first and most popular sculpture, The Broncho Buster (1895), in which a rough-and-ready cowboy singlehandedly tames a rearing mustang. Charles M. Russell, who was celebrated in his own lifetime as "the Cowboy Artist," shows a cowboy brandishing a revolver, as the horse rears in response to the sound of a discharged bullet in Smoking Up (1904). From the earliest days of motion pictures, the American West was a key cinematic subject. In Charles Cristadoro's portrait of William S. Hart (1917), the actor is presented in the guise that contributed to his stardom on the silent screen, earning him the nickname "Two-Gun Bill."


Settlers

The American West in Bronze, 1850–1925

Frederic Remington (American, 1861–1909). The Mountain Man, 1903 (cast by 1907). The Metropolitan Museum of Art, Rogers Fund, 1907 (07.79)

With the beginning of the California Gold Rush in 1848 and the completion of the Transcontinental Railroad in 1869, ever larger numbers of people moved west. Sculptors were inspired by the adventures–real and imagined–of trailblazing settlers, scouts, and traders. Frederick William MacMonnies's equestrian statuette of Kit Carson (ca. 1907–11) pays homage to the daring frontiersman who was mythologized as a folk figure in the popular press. In his model (1927) for the Pioneer Woman monument for Ponca City, Oklahoma, Bryant Baker spotlights women's contributions to the settlement of the American West. The young mother strides forward, leading her son by the hand and holding a Bible and a sack, alluding to both her faith in the face of homesteading's hardships and to her status as heroine and provider.

Purchase the exhibition catalogue in The Met Store.