Photograph of a window

Louis C. Tiffany American
Tiffany Studios

Not on view

Tiffany’s firm considered the Euclid Avenue Temple a significant commission and photographed the windows for publication. Composite photographs, such as this, were created before the windows were installed, and photographs were used to illustrate "The Memorial Windows in the Euclid Avenue Temple, Cleveland, Ohio," a booklet published by Tiffany Studios for the Temple’s Dedication Services on March 22-24, 1912. Now in the collection of the Western Reserve Historical Society, this richly illustrated booklet bound by a silk cord is an example of how deftly Tiffany Studios marketed decorative objects for American synagogues. When Congregation Anshe Chesed moved to a new temple in 1957, it sold the Euclid Avenue Temple to the Liberty Hill Baptist Church, which kept the Tiffany Studios’ windows in place where they may be seen today.

Photograph of a window, Louis C. Tiffany (American, New York 1848–1933 New York), Photograph mounted on board, American

Due to rights restrictions, this image cannot be enlarged, viewed at full screen, or downloaded.

Open Access

As part of the Met's Open Access policy, you can freely copy, modify and distribute this image, even for commercial purposes.


Public domain data for this object can also be accessed using the Met's Open Access API.