The Excavation of an Obelisk from the Campo Marzo

Jean Barbault French

Not on view

This obelisk had been unearthed in 1748 when small houses behind Palazzo di Montecitorio were torn down in order to construct a new building for the Augustinian monks of S. Maria del Popolo. The obelisk was found broken into five major pieces.
This plate shows a pulley system used to move the blocks. The block on the far left has a dedicatory inscription by Emperor Augustus. To the right of the plate is Palazzo della Vignaccia, in the courtyard of which the obelisk was temporarily relocated.

The Excavation of an Obelisk from the Campo Marzo, Jean Barbault (French, Viarmes 1718–1762 Rome), Etching

Due to rights restrictions, this image cannot be enlarged, viewed at full screen, or downloaded.

Open Access

As part of the Met's Open Access policy, you can freely copy, modify and distribute this image, even for commercial purposes.


Public domain data for this object can also be accessed using the Met's Open Access API.