Art/ Collection/ Art Object

Portrait of the Great Master Seosan

Artist:
Unidentified Artist
Period:
Joseon dynasty (1392–1910)
Date:
late 17th–18th century
Culture:
Korea
Medium:
Hanging scroll; ink and color on silk
Dimensions:
Image: 59 7/8 x 30 5/8 in. (152.1 x 77.8 cm) Overall with mounting: 88 1/2 x 37 1/8 in. (224.8 x 94.3 cm) Overall with knobs: 88 1/2 x 40 1/8 in. (224.8 x 101.9 cm)
Classification:
Paintings
Credit Line:
Seymour Fund, 1959
Accession Number:
59.19
Not on view
This painting depicts the eminent monk Cheongheodang Hyujeong 청허당휴정 (1520–1604), better known by his posthumous title, Seosan Daesa 서산대사, or Great Master Seosan. In addition to his role as a leader of Seon Buddhism (Chan in Chinese; Zen in Japanese), Seosan Daesa was also renowned for helping lead an army of Buddhist monks against invading Japanese forces to recover the capital (present-day Seoul) in the late sixteenth century. In a period when Buddhism was officially suppressed by the government in favor of Neo-Confucianism as ruling ideology, the religion continued to develop and, at times, to prosper. Seon Buddhism, which emphasized meditation, was among the sects that flourished.

Idealized portraits of revered monks, especially patriarchs or founders of doctrinal schools, were enshrined in Buddhist temples. As is typical of such portraits from the Joseon period, the monk sits on a wood chair in three-quarter view and fills nearly the entire painting, which is devoid of a background setting. Seosan Daesa holds a large fly-whisk; his shoes are neatly arranged on a footstool. The careful delineation of facial features gives the subject a lifelike appearance. The inscription at the bottom center of the scroll provides the names of the donors who commissioned this portrait and of members of the monastery.
Inscription: On the bottom of the painting is an inscription which is contained in a cartouche. The inscription consists of 13 lines of writing which give the names of the donors, the temple and its location, and the date. The inscription contains the following information: the name of the temple- Yong Ch'on-sa; location: Mount Bi-shil (which does not appear on the map). This might have been an old name for Mount Ch'oi-jung-san listed in the Encyc. of Buddhism, op.cit., p. 975. The mount Ch'oi-jung-san does not appear in the map itself, either; names of donors in the inscription in bottom center of painting are as follows: Sumin; Ch'u-haeng; Jung-an; Jung-je; Tung-um; those born in the years 1724, 1725, 1726, 127; Bûm, the abbot; and another official. These donors were apparently the benefactors of the said temple.
Related Objects

The Daoist Immortal Li Tieguai receiving a visitor

Date: 15th–16th century Medium: Hanging scroll; ink and color on silk Accession: 2016.486 On view in:Not on view

Scholars of the Liuli Hall

Date: late 13th century Medium: Handscroll; ink and color on silk Accession: 1977.49 On view in:Not on view

Ink Making

Date: early 19th century Medium: Gouache on paper Accession: 1994.409 On view in:Not on view

Palace banquet

Medium: Hanging scroll; ink and color on silk Accession: 2010.473 On view in:Not on view

Eighteen Songs of a Nomad Flute: The Story of Lady Wenji

Date: early 15th century Medium: Handscroll; ink, color, and gold on silk Accession: 1973.120.3 On view in:Not on view