On the Hill Side (Our English Coasts, 1852), from "The Art Journal"

After William Holman Hunt British
Engraver Charles Cousen British
Publisher Virtue & Co. British

Not on view

Cousen's engraving is based on Holman Hunt's picture which was first exhibited at the Royal Academy of Arts, London in 1853 as "Our English Coasts, 1852" (Tate Britain). In 1855 the painting was shown in Paris as "Strayed Sheep" and admired by Eugène Delacroix who made glowing note of it in his diary. Sketched at Fairlight, near Hastings, the carefully observed landscape has several elements that betray contemporary political and religious issues of the time. One of these was renewed English anxiety at a possible French invasion following Emperor Napoléon III's seizure of power in 1851. The print was first published in the London-based periodical "The Art Journal" in October 1877 simply titled "On the Hill Side."

On the Hill Side (Our English Coasts, 1852), from "The Art Journal", After William Holman Hunt (British, London 1827–1910 London), Etching and engraving on chine collé; proof

Due to rights restrictions, this image cannot be enlarged, viewed at full screen, or downloaded.

Open Access

As part of the Met's Open Access policy, you can freely copy, modify and distribute this image, even for commercial purposes.


Public domain data for this object can also be accessed using the Met's Open Access API.