Exhibitions/ Bill Viola

Bill Viola: The Quintet of Remembrance

November 6, 2001–January 12, 2003
Exhibitions are free with Museum admission.

Exhibition Overview

This exhibition of a single work features the first representation of video art to enter the Museum's collection as well as the first major video installation to be acquired by the Museum. The Quintet of Remembrance, 2000, is a color video installation by preeminent video artist Bill Viola (American, b. 1951) inspired by his study of late medieval and early Renaissance paintings and their iconography. Three women and two men independently express the emotions of joy, rapture, anger, fear, and sorrow, in extended slow and soundless motion. Running continuously on a 16-minute loop, this powerful work provocatively connects the art of two eras: early Renaissance Europe and twenty-first–century America.