- Tiffany Studios (1902–32)
- ca. 1905
- Favrile glass on concrete
- 21 1/2 x 73 1/2 x 2 3/4 in. (54.6 x 186.7 x 7 cm)
- Credit Line:
- Purchase, Mr. and Mrs. Richard L. Chilton Jr. and Arlie Sulka Gifts, 2010
- Accession Number:
These glass mosaic fragments (see also 2010.124.1) formed part of the sign that extended across the front of the Tiffany Studios Building at 347-355 Madison Avenue (between 44th and 45th Streets). One shows the number 5 (from 355) and the letter T (the beginning of TIFFANY) and the other a partial O and S (the end of STUDIOS) and the number 3 (from 347). The letters and numbers are framed by a geometric border of superbly marbleize Favrile glass terminating in Cosmati-style design elements. Tiffany acquired the Manhattan Athletic Club building in 1905 and substantially renovated it to create a showroom for his Favrile glass vases, pottery, lamps, leaded-glass windows, and textiles. The exterior was modified at the same time; plate-glass windows on the ground level replaced marble pillars, and the sumptuous glass mosaic sign was added to identify the luxury emporium.