Art/ Collection/ Art Object

St. John's College Fordham, New York

William Rodrigue (American, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 1800–1867 New York)
Francis Michelin (New York, NY)
Lithograph with tint stone
image: 14 3/8 x 21 7/16 in. (36.5 x 54.4 cm)
sheet: 17 13/16 x 23 13/16 in. (45.2 x 60.5 cm)
Credit Line:
The Edward W. C. Arnold Collection of New York Prints, Maps and Pictures, Bequest of Edward W. C. Arnold, 1954
Accession Number:
Not on view
Inscription: in stone, below image: "Drawn from Nature by W. Rodigue, Archt. / Lith by F. Michelin, 111 Nassau St., N.York / Respectfully dedicated to the Right Reverend John Hughes D.D. Bishop of New York"
Edward W. C. Arnold; Donor: Edward W. C. Arnold
New York, NY. "Nueva York," September 15, 2010–February 15, 2011.

Peters, America on Stone, pp. 281-4.
Related Objects

Proposed Colossal Statue of George Washington for the City of New York

Artist: G. Thomas (American, 19th century) Date: 1845 Medium: Lithograph with tint stone Accession: 54.90.721 On view in:Not on view

Nocturne (Nocturne: The Thames at Battersea)

Artist: James McNeill Whistler (American, Lowell, Massachusetts 1834–1903 London) Date: 1878 Medium: Lithotint with scraping, on a prepared half-tint ground, second state of two (Chicago), printed in soft gray-black ink on pale blue laid chine mounted on ivory wove plate paper Accession: 17.3.159 On view in:Not on view

Bird's-Eye View of New-York & Brooklyn

Artist: C. E. Lewis (American, 19th century) Date: 1849 Medium: Lithograph with tint stones Accession: 54.90.1443 On view in:Not on view

Dempsey and Firpo (recto); A Knock-Out, second state (Incident of the Ring) (verso)

Artist: George Bellows (American, Columbus, Ohio 1882–1925 New York) Date: 1923–24 (recto) and 1921 (verso) Medium: Lithographic stone Accession: 25.8.1 On view in:Gallery 773

Untitled (Desert)

Artist: Vija Celmins (American, born Riga, Latvia, 1938) Date: 1971 Medium: Lithograph Accession: 1972.501.5 On view in:Gallery 851