Panel with Byzantine Ivory Carving of the Crucifixion

Byzantine (ivory); Spanish (setting)

On view at The Met Fifth Avenue in Gallery 304

Byzantine ivories were highly prized in western Europe, where they survived in church treasuries or were incorporated into deluxe book bindings. The ivory from the panel on the left originally formed the center of a Byzantine three-paneled icon. It may have been one of the many gifts to the Nunnery of Santa Cruz de la Serós, which was founded by Queen Felicia (d. 1085), wife of Sancho V Ramírez (r. 1076–94), king of Aragon and Navarre. The sumptuous cover also contains a sapphire seal, located to the right of Saint John, inscribed in Arabic with four of the ninety-nine “Beautiful Names” of God.

#2770. Book Cover with Byzantine Icon of the Crucifixion

Panel with Byzantine Ivory Carving of the Crucifixion, Silver-gilt with pseudo-filigree, glass, crystal, and sapphire cabochons, ivory on wood support, Byzantine (ivory); Spanish (setting)

Due to rights restrictions, this image cannot be enlarged, viewed at full screen, or downloaded.

Open Access

As part of the Met's Open Access policy, you can freely copy, modify and distribute this image, even for commercial purposes.


Public domain data for this object can also be accessed using the Met's Open Access API.