Design House House of Drécoll French
Designer Mme. Marguerite de Wagner
Not on view
Drécoll was founded in 1896 by Christoff von Drécoll in Vienna, Austria where he designed fashions for the Imperial family of Austria. In 1902, a couture house was opened in Paris and run by Monsieur and Madame Besancon de Wagner. Their daughter Maggie Rouff was a talented designer, working for the house first and then later managing the business with her husband Pierre beginning in 1929. Eventually, the house merged with the House of Beer and then in 1931 they merged with the House of Agness, closing in 1963.
This dress shows a dramatic sense of style, exemplified with the use of ciré satin accented by the burgundy silk sash at the waist. The combination of such sumptuous materials was typical of the period, done by other couturiers as it added an extra element of luxury and refinement.
This artwork is meant to be viewed from right to left. Scroll left to view more.