- Probably by Jean-Pierre Defrance (1694–1768)
- ca. 1750–60
- French, Rouen
- Height: 7 ft. 3 3/4 in. (223 cm)
- Credit Line:
- Purchase, Charles Ulrick and Josephine Bay Foundation Inc. Gift, 1964
- Accession Number:
Lining the rusticated, arched facade of the Henry Kravis wing of the Museum are four larger-than-lifesize Allegories of the Elements, made of limestone (64.93.1–.4). Originally standing in the gardens of the Château de Mussegros near Ecouis in Normandy, the figures can be attributed on stylistic grounds to the sculptor Jean-Pierre Defrance (1694–1768) and are dated around 1750.