Double Tomb of Don Àlvar Rodrigo de Cabrera, Count of Urgell and His Wife Cecília of Foix
- ca. 1300–1350
- Limestone, traces of paint
- a: 19 x 82 7/8 x 28 1/4 in.
b: 21 x 74 3/4 x 26 in.
c: 16 x 74 x 29 in.
d: 24 3/4 x 66 3/8 x 24 3/4 in.
- Credit Line:
- The Cloisters Collection, 1948
- Accession Number:
Documentary evidence suggests that this tomb ensemble was made for Àlvar Rodrigo de Cabrera and his wife, Cecília of Foix, the parents of Ermengol X. The monastery of Bellpuig de les Avellanes was abandoned and badly damaged during the Wars of Succession that began around 1700. When the monastery was reinhabited in the eighteenth century, the church with its burial chapel was reconstructed. The sarcophagi with the arms of the counts of Urgell and Foix were probably made at the time to fit the original effigies.