Inscription: The inscription consists of 20 columns of characters. Each column may originally have had 12 characters but the surface of the stele is very worn in this section, making a continuous reading of the text impossible. The date of the making of the stele is given in the 13th column as the third year of the Zhide era (758); in the 8th column, barely readable, is the customary mention "reverently having had one stone image made" without specifying the icon's name. Among the donors, the name of the Wei family appears three times. (Angela Falco Howard).
[ Garrett Chatfield Pier , 1912; sold to MMA]
Richmond. Virginia Museum of Fine Arts. "Masterpieces of Chinese Art," October 15, 1954–October 15, 1956.
National Museum of History, Taipei. "Zhongguo gu dai shi diao yi shu) 中國古代石雕藝術," February 13, 1983–September 30, 1983.
Gaoxiang. Zhongzheng Culture Center. "Zhongguo gu dai shi diao yi shu) 中國古代石雕藝術," May 25, 1983–July 25, 1983.
Tainan Culture Center. "Zhongguo gu dai shi diao yi shu) 中國古代石雕藝術," August 10, 1983–September 30, 1983.
New York. St. John's University. "Chinese Buddhist Sculpture from the Wei through the Tang Dynasties," November 1, 1983–December 30, 1983.