Name Stone of Senenmut
- New Kingdom
- Dynasty 18
- Joint reign of Hatshepsut and Thutmose III
- ca. 1479–1458 B.C.
- From Egypt, Upper Egypt, Thebes, Sheikh Abd el-Qurna, Radim, Tomb of Senenmut (TT 71) or below, MMA excavations, 1930–31
- Limestone, paint
- H. 25.5 cm (10 1/16 in.); W. 33.5 cm (13 3/16 in.); D. 9 cm (3 9/16 in.)
- Credit Line:
- Rogers Fund, 1936
- Accession Number:
A group of large, rough limestone chips in the collection have been inscribed witht the name and some of the titles of Hatshepsut's official Senenmut. These name stones (also called tally stones) were originally built into the terrace retaining walls and facade revetments of Senenmut's tomb chapel (TT 71). The stones were not intended to be seen in the finished structure, rather, they may have been included to symbolize Senenmut's ownership of the monument. Over time, the terrace and revetments collapsed, and the stones were scattered over the hillside below the tomb chapel where they were uncovered by the Museum's Egyptian Expedition during the 1935-1936 field season. Those in New York were received by the Museum in the division of finds.
This stone records the name Senenmut written in black paint..